The Lowestoft Golf Club was founded in 1887 by a group of enthusiasts on the Denes in Lowestoft. In 1906 some of these golfers and their successors formed the Lowestoft Golf Course Company Ltd in order to purchase land in Pakefield for a 9 hole course to be rented to the club. In 1924 a further purchase of land enabled the Company to call on the services of James Braid to design a full 18 hole course. Due to the growth of urban development and major road improvement schemes the Company and Club were forced to look for an alternative location. Finally the Rookery Estate was purchased in 1972 and the Course was opened in late summer 1975.
We are a large friendly club, welcoming members, visitors, societies, and corporate clients. Our challenging parkland course presented by head green-keeper Mark Henderson and his team will provide a fair and enjoyable experience for all golfers. Rookery Park will play host to two major Suffolk County events in 2014. In April the Suffolk Golf Union Amateur Foursomes will be held on Sunday 27th. In May, the Suffolk Ladies County Golf Association Ladies Strokeplay Championship will take place on Friday 9th May, with the Matchplay Championship taking place on Saturday 10th and Sunday 11th.
We have a dedicated team at Rookery Park designed to provide members, visitors and societies the best possible service of the highest standard, both on the course and In the clubhouse. We also have a first class Professional Shop run by our Head Professional Gary Kitley who is available for tuition and equipment. To discover more about what Rookery Park has to offer follow the links on the site or contact the Secretary Robert Pettett who will be able to provide any additional information you require.
Rookery Park Golf Club also boasts one of the finest Driving Ranges in the area. Run by Ideal Golf Ltd, visitors and members can use the range from 8.00 am – 8.00 pm.